The main objective of the INSPIRE early career network of the ISBM is to facilitate the development and promotion of research opportunities, mentoring and education for students and early career members who have an interest in behavioural medicine. The ISBM INSPIRE Chair is a 4-year term position.


Briony Hill (Chair)

Monash University, Australia

INSPIRE committee 2020-2024


Health and Behavior International Collaborative Award 2019

We are pleased to announce a call for applications for the 2019 Health and Behavior International Collaborative Award! This year, the award is sponsored by the Society for Health Psychology of the American Psychological Association (SfHP), the International Society of Behavioral Medicine (ISBM), the American Psychosomatic Society (APS), the Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM), and the International Behavioural Trials Network (IBTN).

The purpose of the award is to facilitate a minimum of one week visit to an international laboratory or research group under the guidance of an identified international mentor. The proposed visit will be based on aims to pursue a specific research project or a specific program development project in the areas of health research, clinical behavioral health, or health promotion.

The applicant will receive $3,000 USD to offset costs of travel and accommodations to visit the lab of an international mentor. Five awards will be competitively granted this year. Applicants can be trainees or early career researchers or professionals within 5 years of completing their terminal degree (career disruptions excluded).


Applications are due May 1, 2019. Applicants will be notified via email by the Health and

Behavior International Collaborative Award Committee regarding the outcome of their applications in early June 2019. For more information about the award and instructions for applying, please visit the HBIC website:


Inquiries can be directed to

Contribution to International Collaboration Award Recipients 2018

Congratulations to our Contribution to International Collaboration award recipients. This year, we had four recipients:


Freddie Rivera, who will use the award to help provide training to health personnel in Puerto Rican schools to help identify trauma-related symptoms in students and assist in referring them to appropriate evidence-based mental health services.


Joshua Wiley (PhD), who will travel to Arizona USA to work with Prof Weihs on adapting an emotion regulation in cancer intervention for online and remote delivery.


Jessica Latak (PhD) will be traveling to the lab of Dr Susan Ayers to qualitatively examine women’s psychological adaptation to pregnancy, and investigate associations with postnatal mental health.


Dabiana Brito Silva (PhD, MS, BSN) will be visiting A/Prof Fabio Benedetti to adapt and evaluate intervention materials from a lifestyle modification program delivered in community settings.

ISBM is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Health and Behavior International Collaborative Award!

Recipients list:

Samantha van Beurden, PhD student of Medical Studies at the University of Exeter Medical School in the UK will be traveling to the lab of Dr. Petra Staiger, PhD, at Deakin University in Australia to adapt a dietary impulse management intervention for use in problem drinkers (ISBM awardee).



Lydia Roos, PhD student of Health Psychology at the University of North Carolina in the USA, will be traveling to the lab of Dr Nicolas Rohleder, PhD, at Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nurnberg in Germany to evaluate the role of emotion regulation strategies in acute stress reactivity using a repeated acute stress paradigm (SfHP awardee).



Patricia Moreno, PhD. Postdoctoral Trainee at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in the USA, will be traveling to the lab of Dr. Manual Ortiz, PhD at Universidad de La Frontera in Chile to evaluate psychosocial factors and cardiometabolic dysregulation in adult Chilean cancer survivors (APS awardee).